Gone Writing

Phyllis Entis

Remembering My Heroes

2 Comments

imagesOn the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918, the guns fell silent in Europe. The First World War – The War To End All Wars – was over. Whether referred to as Remembrance Day (throughout the British Commonwealth of Nations) or as Veterans Day (in the USA), the anniversary of the end of World War I is a reminder of the horror of war.

 

Several members of my family served in the Canadian military, most of them in World War II. Fortunately, all of them survived their war service. These are my heroes.

Uncle Reuben Lapidus with mates (courtesy of Rubin Vineberg)

Reuben Lapidus (in the middle). My great-uncle served in the Canadian Army in both world wars.

 

Version 2

Louis Lutsky. My Dad drove supply trucks for the Canadian Army Quartermaster Corps through Italy and the Netherlands in WW II

 

Version 2

Moe (Moishe) Lutsky (1946). My uncle, a member of the Grenadier Guards, drove a tank in the Netherlands in WW II. You can read his story here.

 

scan0021

Joe Quint (with my Aunt Lil). Uncle Joe served in the Canadian Army in WW II.

 

Photo provided by Rubin Vineberg

Maurice Vineberg. My cousin served in the Canadian Navy in WW II.

 

I also count among my heroes the fathers and mothers, brothers and sisters, wives and sweethearts who kept the home fires burning and the factories humming. Here are just a few of them.

 

marvin-jacob-esther-lutsky-with-gertrude-quint

My grandparents, Esther and Jacob Lutsky (1943).

Standing next to my grandfather is Dad’s youngest brother, my Uncle Marvin. Next to my grandmother is my Mom, who was not yet married to Dad. This picture was taken outside my grandparents’ general store. Note the poster for Victory Bonds hanging in the window above my grandmother’s head.

gertie

My Mom (1943).

She and Dad married after the war, in March 1946.

 lil-mary-gertrude-jack-maizie-quint-nov-1944

From left to right in 1944: My aunt, Lil Sonnenberg Quint, Mary Quint (my grandmother), Gertrude Quint (Mom), Jack Quint (my grandfather) and my aunt, Maisie Quint

jack-quint

My grandfather, Jack Quint

 

2 thoughts on “Remembering My Heroes

  1. Beautiful post, my Cuzzie. Thank you for this. I cherish them all. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

