Gone Writing

Phyllis Entis

The Importance of Reviews

Leave a comment

Any writer who tries to tell you that reviews (make that ‘good’ reviews) are meaningless, that reviews make no difference, or that she doesn’t care whether or not there is a string of 4-star and 5-star reviews posted to her book’s Amazon page, is lying through her teeth.

Reviews matter. They figure into Amazon’s search engine – that magic software that determines which book titles pop up on the first couple of pages of a search result. They influence a reader’s decision as to which books to buy. But, most importantly, reviews are the best way for a reader to communicate with an author.

I can tell you that reviews matter to me. I read every single review that is posted, whether on Amazon, goodreads, or any other site. When my writing is sputtering, and I wonder why I should bother trying to string words together, I take heart from a reader who posts that he is impatient for the release of my next book. It’s all very well to proclaim that I write because I love writing;  the truth is that writing is much more enjoyable when I know that people get pleasure out of my stories.

Today, I am basking in the afterglow of a wonderful review of The Chocolate Labradoodle Caper that appeared on the blog site On My Kindle. Please follow the link and discover why Charity Rowell-Stansbury called The Chocolate Labradoodle Caper her “…favorite book in the Damien Dickens Mystery Series thus far.”

Buoyed by the encouragement I’ve received from On My Kindle and other readers, I am now hard at work plotting Damien and Millie’s next adventure. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

