Gone Writing

Phyllis Entis

Don’t Buy My Books!

3 Comments

I’m serious.

I really mean it.

I don’t want you to buy my books. I don’t want to twist your arms, talk your ears off, and clutter your Twitter and Facebook feeds with unwanted ‘Buy my book’ posts.

I don’t want you to buy my books if:

1. You are doing so just to support a fellow Indie author; or
2. Because I’m family or a friend; or
3. Because I’m a neighbor; or
4. Because you knew Quintzy from the Doodle Zoo or Quintzy’s Qorner.

BUT, if you enjoyed reading my short stories on Prompt Prose, or if you used to follow my food safety blog and are curious about my fiction writing, or if you love mysteries and want to try out a new series, this is what I would like you to do:

Check to see whether your local library carries one of my books, either in paperback or in their electronic collection. You can find Damien Dickens Mysteries at the Toronto Public Library, the Vaughan (Ontario) Public Library, the Sacramento Public Library, the Cincinnati Public Library, and the Harrison Memorial Library in my home town of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Borrow one of my books. If you enjoy it, you have my permission to buy all of them.

If your library doesn’t offer the Damien Dickens Mysteries, you can download and read the first 20% of all of my books absolutely free at Smashwords. If you like what you read and you want to find out whodunit, you have my permission to buy my books.

By now, you must be wondering how I ever plan to sell another copy of my work. It’s simple, really. I am relying on you, my prospective reader, to sell it for me. Once you have read a book, please take a few minutes to leave a short review on the bookseller’s website or on your library’s website. You can also post a review on Goodreads. Better yet, if you liked my book, please recommend it to your friends. Word-of-mouth is the best advertising in the world.

Finally, if I still haven’t convinced you NOT to buy my books, please note that the Kindle edition of THE GREEN PEARL CAPER is on sale at Amazon.com through to the end of this month for just US$0.99 (and for the equivalent discounted price at other Amazon e-stores).

3 thoughts on “Don’t Buy My Books!

  1. My clever cuzzie. 🙂

    Like

  2. Enjoyed your bog post Phyllis. I didn’t know you wrote short stories… me too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

