Gone Writing

Phyllis Entis

Montreal – City of My Heart

6 Comments

I was born and raised in Montreal.

I remember when Place Ville Marie was no more than a hole in the ground. As a child, I watched in awe as it soared to the heavens.

PVM clean scan

I gazed at the iconic McGill University Medical Sciences Building as it took its shape. And spent many hours in its three-story library as an undergraduate.

city-367278_1920

 

I watched as Expo ’67 was constructed, and spent every spare moment exploring every one of its pavilions and displays during the World’s Fair.

Expo '67

 

I marvelled at the originality of Habitat ’67, the housing complex that began as architect Moishe Safdie’s graduate thesis.

habitat-67-2283538_1920

 

I listened as Mayor Jean Drapeau promised the ’76 Olympics could not run a deficit ‘any more than a man could have a baby.’ And cringed at all of the jokes as the costs spun out of control.

montreal-381275_1920

 

I walked the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal many times over the years.

montreal-688225_1920

 

Climbed the steps to St. Joseph’s Oratory more than once, though never on my knees.

oratory-1107231_1920

 

And hiked to the cross at the top of Mount Royal.

montreal-1544511_1920

Little wonder that I decided to set a portion of The Chocolate Labradoodle Caper in the city of my birth. Although it has been many years since I have called it home, Montreal remains the city of my heart.

 

6 thoughts on “Montreal – City of My Heart

  1. Mine too. Thanks for the memories, Cuzzie!

    Like

  2. I love Montreal! I have very happy memories of my visit there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We all have a slice of our heart in Montreal , thanks for the memories. 💞

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

